最高人民检察院关于允许检察官就污染、食品安全和其他有害公共利益的行为提起公益诉讼的试点工作是现今中国对于环境保护的重大进步。

中国检察院具有法律监督权,通常针对刑事诉讼。因此公益诉讼是对其职权的扩展,以助于加强环保法在中国的施行。因司法系统的不完善该部分法律的施行一直较松散。

作为具有强大财政支撑的国家公权力机构,检察院的介入彰显了中国政府对利用法院处理环境污染问题的重视。

代表公共利益提起诉讼比仅向相关团体主张损害更有效。因为法院在解决关于所有社会的、潜在的增加信用及影响的问题时办演了更重要的角色。

在中国1989年环境保护法下,公益诉讼是很难实行的。环境保护团体或个人起诉污染者也不是不可能,但并没有相关法律允许他们起诉。2015年修改的环境保护法部分解决了此问题,该法第58条允许非政府组织向人民法院提起诉讼只要该非政府组织(1)依法在设区的市级以上人民政府民政部门登记;(2)专门从事环境保护公益活动连续五年以上且无违法记录。但是还是有很大的局限性,因为要求非政府组织无任何违法记录,这个概念的外延非常广泛。

例如,所有注册为协会或非企业单位的非政府组织应说明成立目的、经营范围和活动范围,如果超出范围可能会受到惩罚。

非政府组织成立也非易事,根据58条规定非政府组织应当由监管机构监管,也即“民政部或当地县级以上民政部门”,审批所有的变更及年度活动。非政府组织成立时需要至少50个会员以及3万元运行资金。

考虑到这些组织在获得巩固环境法实施的重要角色并不容易,因此为提升环境保护及标准,检察院的介入对于确实是非常合适的。

新公益诉讼试点工作将在13个省级司法部门开展直至2017年,包括内蒙古、吉林、江苏、安徽、福建、山东、湖北、广东、贵州、云南、陕西和甘肃,将包括行政(即起诉行为不当或失职的政府机关部门或其授权机构)和民事(即公民、法人和其他组织)诉讼两部分。

诉讼中,检察院可以主张民事权利如停止损害、排除妨碍、恢复原状和赔偿损失。在行政诉讼中,检察院可主张取消非法行为或主张在规定期限内履行职责或决定行为无效不合法。

目前看来,该项目进行顺利,个人在向当地检察院举报中办演了重要角色。近来,如吉林省白山市江源区一些居民举报当地医院排出未经处理的医疗废弃物到下水道,当地检察院对此展开了调查,调查显示废弃物将给地下水及饮用水系统造成严重影响,可能增加疾病风险。

检察官因此于2016年7月向法院提起诉讼,要求医院停止倾倒污染物并在三个月内安装适当的废弃物处理装置。本案之后,检察官也向相关省健康部门提出建议,随后该部门对全省可能污染环境的医院进行了彻查。

因该案涉及民事及行政两类主体所以引起了特别的关注,省检察院副检察长谢茂田表示,“通过诉讼,检察官可以督促公民和行政部门履行他们的职责”。

目前,中国检察院已向法院提起了超过30件公益诉讼,其中包括11起民事诉讼,18起行政诉讼和1件民事及行政诉讼。最高检发现有23件环境保护相关的诉讼,占总数超过76%。

公益诉讼将在多大程度上帮助中国实现环境保护的目的还有待观察,这些案件可能实质性地改变中国的环境诉讼。

因此,在中国经营的公司对该领域法律的发展持续关注将是明智之举。

了解更多信息,请邮件至info@dandreapartners.com

One of the most significant developments in the context of the greater emphasis given by China on the environmental protection nowadays is the Supreme People’s Procuratorate (SPP) pilot program allowing prosecutors to initiate public interest litigation in cases of pollution, food safety, and other harms to public interests.

Chinese procuratorates, in general, have always had powers of legal supervision, which generally involve conducting criminal prosecutions. The power to initiate public prosecutions is, therefore, a new extension of this authority, which may be helpful in enhancing the enforcement of environmental laws in China, historically lax because of the country’s decentralized legal system.

The formal entrance of procuratorates, powerful State units with significant financial resources, into environmental litigation thus signals that China is serious about using the courts to address environmental pollution.

Generally speaking it is great to have lawsuits filed on behalf of the public interest, rather than just to address the harm to a specific party or parties, as it gives the courts a bigger role in addressing issues that concern all of society, potentially raising their credibility and impact.

 Whereas under China’s 1989 Environmental Protection Law was difficult, if not impossible, for environmental protection groups or individuals to bring lawsuits against polluters because no aspect of the law allowed them to sue for environmental degradation, the 2015 version of the EPL partially addressed this deficiency with Article 58, which allows NGOs to file claims in the People’s Court as long as the NGO (1) is registered with the civil affairs department at or above the municipal level and (2) has been focused on environment-related public interest activities for five consecutive years or more. However, the restrictions are still fairly high as NGOs are also required not to have any “record of illegal activity”, being the formulation of the phrase really broad.

For instance, all NGOs registered as “associations” or “non-enterprise activities” are required to submit their “purposes, operational scope and areas of activities”, and may be subject to sanctions for exceeding those.

 The NGOs also face difficulties in being registered, as to benefit from article 58 they should be sponsored by a “supervising agency”, i.e. “the Ministry of Civil Affairs or local Civil Affairs Departments at county level and above”, which must approve a yearly relation on the NGO’s activities and all changes to its regulations. Registration further requires the NGOs to have at least fifty members and an operational fund of 30.000 RMB.

Given the persistent difficulties for these organizations to acquire a significant role in enforcing environmental law, and therefore to promote the achievement of environmental protection and standards, the Procuratorate’s program indeed acquires a special relevance to reach such goal.

The new public interest litigation pilot projects will proceed in 13 provincial level jurisdictions until 2017, including Inner Mongolia, Jilin, Jiangsu, Anhui, Fujian, Shandong, Hubei, Guangdong, Guizhou, Yunnan, Shaanxi, Gansu, and will include both administrative (i.e. against government organs and departments, or units authorized by them, that act wrongfully or fail to perform duties) and civil (i.e. against citizens, legal persons and other organizations) litigation.

At trial, the procuratorate can seek remedies in civil cases as stopping the harm, eliminating obstacles and hazards, restoring original conditions, and claiming compensation. In administrative cases, the procuratorate may seek to have unlawful actions annulled, or ask for a particular performance to be done within a fixed time period, or for a determination that conduct is null or unlawful.

The program has, at the present time, proved to be successful and private individuals acquired a fundamental role in reporting to the local protectorate relevant violations. Recently, as some residents of the Jiangyuan District of Baishan City in northeast’s China Jilin province reported that the local hospital has been discharging untreated medical sewerage, the local procuratorate launched an investigation on the point, which showed that sewage poses a great danger to the underground water and drinking water system and may increase chances of diseases.

Prosecutors thus filed a lawsuit which led the city court, in July 2016, to condemn the hospital to stop dumpling polluted water and to install a proper sewage treatment facility within three months. Following the trial, prosecutors also made suggestions to provincial health departments who later launched a thorough check of environment-polluting practices of hospitals.

The case acquires a special relevance as it is the first public interest case involving both civil and administrative bodies: on the point Xie Maotian, the deputy procurator-general of the provincial procuratorate, observed that “through the trials, prosecutors can push civil and administrative departments to honor their duties”.

At the present time, Chinese procuratorates had filed more than 30 public interest lawsuits to courts, which include 11 civil litigation cases, 18 administrative litigation cases and one with both civil and administrative litigation. The SPP further observed that there were 23 cases for environmental protection-related litigation, accounting for over 76 percent of the total.

Whereas, it still remains to be seen in which extent public interest litigation will help China advance in its environmental protection goals, those cases can nevertheless fundamentally change the environmental litigation in China.

Companies doing business in China, thus, would be wise to monitor the developments of this important area of law. D’Andrea & Partners will keep you updated about this topic.

For any further information about this topic, write to info@dandreapartners.com