中国外商投资管理体制迎来重大变革。2016年10月8日,商务部发布《外商投资企业设立及变更备案管理暂行办法》(以下简称《办法》),自发布之日起施行。据此,外国投资者对外商投资准入特别管理措施范围外的投资行为,一律从向政府申请审批改为向政府备案。

一、 适用范围:

总体上而言,除《外商投资产业指导目录(2015)》“限制类”、“禁止类”以及“鼓励类”中对持股比例及高管有要求的之外的外商投资企业都适用办法。但与此同时,我们仍需关注以下方面:

  1. 明确《办法》适用的“外商投资企业”不包括股权投资企业;
  2. 从适用备案的变更事项清单中删除了“股权质押”,这究竟意味着外商投资企业股权质押变更事项仍需要根据《外商投资企业投资者股权变更的若干规定》进行报批;
  3. 明确排除了外资并购纳入备案管理,外资并购仍适用目前的特殊监管制度。具体而言,对于外国投资者并购境内非外商投资企业,适用《关于外国投资者并购境内企业的规定》,其中涉及上市公司的,适用《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》;但外国投资者并购境内非外商投资企业完成后,外商投资企业发生的变更事项,如不涉及国家规定实施准入特别管理措施的,也将适用备案管理。

二、备案方式:

根据办法第三条规定,明确外商投资企业设立及变更备案工作均通过外商投资综合管理信息系统在线完成。以上海为例,系统网址为:http://wz.investment.gov.cn/SFI/

 

三、备案程序

  1. 设立程序:
  2. 前往工商进行名称预核准
  3. 在线申请备案(可选择在营业执照签发前或在在营业执照签发后30日内进行备案)
  4. 备案机构完成备案
  5. 工商登记
  6. 变更程序:
  7. 外商投资企业最高权力机构作出变更事项决议
  8. 在线申请备案(变更事项发生后30日内)
  9. 备案完成备案

四、登记程序

  1. 外商投资企业或其投资者通过备案系统在线填报和提交备案申请材料
  2. 备案机构对填报信息形式上的完整性和准确性进行核对,并对申报事项是否属于备案范围进行甄别,在3个工作日内完成备案(资料欠缺的,15个工作日内补齐)
  3. 由备案人自行选择是否领取备案回执

 

五、负面清单

国家发改委与商务部于《暂行办法》施行的同日联合发布22号公告,公告指出:经国务院批准,外商投资准入特别管理措施范围按《外商投资产业指导目录(2015年修订)》中限制类和禁止类,以及鼓励类中有股权要求、高管要求的有关规定执行。涉及外资并购设立企业及变更的,按现行有关规定执行。

The governmental approval procedure of foreign investment enterprise (“FIE”) in China changed into registration procedure which will greatly facilitate the FIEs in China.

On October 8, 2016, MofCom has published Interim Measures for Record-filing Administration for the Incorporation and Alteration of Foreign-invested Enterprises (“Measure”) and the Measures became effective on that day. According to this Measure, FIEs does not need to obtain the approval from local MofCom but just need to register on line in the system.

Section 1.  Application Scope

Generally speaking, the scope of aforesaid enterprises excludes the items listed in Catalogue of Restricted and Prohibited in Foreign Investment Industries Catalogue for the Guidance of Foreign Investment Industries (2015 Edition) and the foreign enterprises of which the shareholding ratio and senior management have specific requirements in the Encouraged Catalogue.

In the meantime, therefore, the following points shall be noticed:

  1. the enterprises of equity investments shall be excluded from the enterprises mentioned in the “Measure”;
  2. Deleting the “Share Pledge” from the altering items list of registration implies the altering items of equity pledge of FIE still need to be approved according to the “Provision for the Alteration of Investors’ Equities in Foreign-funded Enterprises”.
  3. It excludes explicitly the foreign M&A from the scope of registration. In details, the merger between foreign investors and Chinese investment enterprises shall be in compliance with the “Provisions on Merger and Acquisition of Domestic Enterprises by Foreign Investors”. With respect to public companies, “Administrative Measures for Strategic Investment by Foreign Investors in Public Companies” shall be applied. However, where the altering items of FIE after merging Chinese investment enterprises, which is irrelevant to the “Negative List”, will also be applied to the registration system.

Section 2. Registration Method

In accordance with the Article 3 of the “Measure”, both the establishment and alteration of the FIE can be applied for and conducted via the Foreign Investment Online Integrated Management Information System. For instance, in Shanghai, the website is http://wz.investment.gov.cn/SFI/.

Section 3. Filing procedure

Procedure of establishment:

  1. Conduct name pre-approval in the Administration for Industry and Commerce (“AIC”).
  2. Perform online filing application (it may be done before issuance of business license or in 30 days after it is issued).
  3. Filing completed by the authority.
  4. Registration in the AIC.

Procedure of alteration:

  1. Supreme organ of the foreign-invested enterprise makes a decision for alteration.
  2. Perform online filing application (in 30 days after the decision is made).
  3. Filing completed by the authority.

Section 4. Registration procedure

  1. Foreign-invested enterprise or its investors file and submit application materials by means of the online filing system.
  2. Filing Authority takes charge of the verification of the integrity and correctness of information filed in the last step, determines whether the application matches filing conditions, and completes filing in 3 working days (in case of missing information, it shall be completed in 15 working days).
  3. Personnel in charge of filing are at their own discretion on collecting filing receipt.

Section 5. Negative list

Notice No.22 was released jointly by National Development and Reform Commission and Ministry of Commerce on the first day when Measure was put into force. In this notice, approved by the State Council, special management measures for foreign investment access shall be performed pursuant to the relevant regulations on higher requirement for equity and senior executives set forth in the restrained, prohibited and encouragement categories in Catalogue of Industries for Guidance of Foreign Investment (2015 Edition). In the event that enterprise establishment or alteration involves foreign capital merger and acquisition, current regulations shall be observed.

For more information about this topic, please send an email to info@dandreapartners.com